reasons to be a controversial human being.

A Clinical Analysis of Lonestar’s “I’m Already There”

Written by three old timey country dudes, Lonestar’s megahit “I’m Already There” has captivated the hearts and tear ducts of the NASCAR lovin’ American people. Not since “Christmas Shoes” or “Butterfly Kisses” has a country song so blatantly manipulated people into feeling sad. I’d like to analyze the song, in an analytical way of course, and try to decipher what the lyrics of this sugar-sweet tale of a father’s love and lies really means. My comments are in bold.

“I’m Already There”

He called her on the road,
From a lonely cold hotel room, (Is he on the road or in a hotel? Or like “the road”)
Just to hear her say “I love you” one more time
But when he heard the sound,
Of the kids laughing in the background,
He had to wipe away a tear from his eye. (I guess the kids are only allowed to laugh when Daddy’s on the “road”)
A little voice came on the phone (Not a big voice mind you, a little one)
Said “Daddy when you coming home?”
He said the first thing that came to his mind (“never”)

I’m already there. (Where?)
Take a look around (Right behind you)
I’m the sunshine in your hair, (Like Sun-In? Or highlights?)
I’m the shadow on the ground (Like a dead ghost)
I’m the whisper in the wind (A la Grandmother Willow)
I’m your imaginary friend (But real. So like an imaginary friend that abandons you for “the road”)
And I know I’m in your prayers (Wait? Is he a ghost, or the wind or God. He’s mixing metaphors)
Oh I’m already there.

She got back on the phone,
Said I really miss you darling.
Don’t worry about the kids they’ll be alright (One would hope the mother is capable of keeping them safe)
Wish I was in your arms,
Lying right there beside you,
But I know that I’ll be in your dreams tonight.
And I’ll gently kiss your lips (Phone sex?)
Touch you with my fingertips, (Or the wind)
So turn out the light and close your eyes. (Is he asking her to masturbate?)

I’m already there
Don’t make a sound. (Like what a rapist says)
I’m the beat in your heart
I’m the moonlight shining down
I’m the whisper in the wind
And I’ll be there until the end (The end of what? He’s obviously not there now)
Can you feel the love that we share (That’s a lofty question to ask a child)
Oh I’m already there

We may be a thousand miles apart,
But I’ll be with you wherever you are. (Well he could start by being at home)

I’m already there
Take a look around. (Does he know they can’t see him? Or is this iChat)
I’m the sunshine in your hair
I’m the shadow on the ground, (But don’t turn around)
I’m the whisper in the wind
And I’ll be there until the end (Wait till he dies? But then he could just be like a shadow then right? Or hair sunshine?)
Can you feel the love that we share?
Oh I’m already there.
Oh I’m already,
There. (Except I’m on “the road” enough to warrant this song / conversation)

Conclusion: So the basic gist of this phone conversation from the ever ominous “Road” is, I’m sorry kids, Daddy’s nearly a thousand miles away but don’t worry. I’m your blood, hair, god, ghost, imaginary friend, shadow, wind, fingertips…oh and your prayers? I’m in those too. Plus I want to touch your mother with my fingers through the phone.

This is the kind of “The Gambler” type of song that should make fathers think about their kids and mothers about their husbands. But at the end of the day, if the father loved the kids enough, he could stay home. Or bring them with. See this “road” that he’s on is so nonspecific. Is he an insurance salesman? Vacuum guy? One of those people who drives those red bull trucks across the country? Because it’s a country song they probably mean he’s touring with his totally awesome and christian-friendly rock band, but the song would make infinitely more sense if he was in Iraq (which is an ever-growing country song subject) or in some far-away land.

The Numbers:

Creepy: 86%

Sweet: 14%

And if you notice the music video, they decided to go for the jugular and despite no evidence in the song lyrics, post pictures of American soldiers and their families plus sad-lead-singer-swooning piano footage.

One response

  1. Clarice Lindenfelser

    there are so many things that you can on ebay.;

    <a href="Remember to visit our favorite website
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/pancreas-pain/

    December 10, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Leave a comment